IEEE Security Standards

next up previous contents
Next: Other Standardization activities Up: Security in Open Systems Previous: ECMA Security Standards

IEEE Security Standards

IEEE 802.10 is currently working on a document titled Standard for Interoperable Local Area Network Security (SILS) that has eight parts. Part A is the model, part B is Secure Data Exchange (SDE), Part C is Key Management, Part D is Security Management, Part E is SDE of Ethernet, Part F is Sublayer Management, Part G is SDE Security Labels, and Part H is Protocol Information Conformance Statement (PICS) Proforma.

Two things should be noted:

In addition, this committee is working on a key management protocol which, while in several ways is a linear descendant of the SDNS work, draws heavily on the work on GULS and on developments within SC27. It is highly probable that this work will form the basis of the ISO key management standard in SC21/WG6.

John Barkley
Fri Oct 7 16:17:21 EDT 1994